+ (1) 646 863 1009 CONTACT


YouTube Play focused on the most exceptional talent working in the ever-expanding realm of online video. Developed by YouTube and the Guggenheim Museum in collaboration with HP, YouTube Play attracted innovative, original, and surprising videos from around the world, regardless of genre, technique, background, or budget. 

Guggenheim Exhibition
On view at the Guggenheim Museums in New York, Bilbao, Berlin, and Venice from October 22 to 24, 2010, the top 25 videos made up the ultimate YouTube playlist: a selection of the most unique, innovative, groundbreaking video work being created and distributed online during the past two years. The videos and artists were celebrated at an event at the Guggenheim Museum in New York on October 21, which was livestreamed to a worldwide audience at youtube.com/play.

About YouTube Play
In the last two decades, there has been a paradigm shift in visual culture. The moving image has been fully absorbed into critical contemporary-art practices, and now we are witnessing the power of the Internet to catalyze and disseminate new forms of digital media, including online video. With video now available for anyone to produce and watch, almost anytime and anywhere—be it on cell phones, digital cameras, computers, or tablets—it has become the medium of choice for many aspiring artists. YouTube Play recognized the current effect of new technologies on creativity by showcasing exceptional talent working in the ever-expanding realm of digital media.

The Take
A blog run in conjunction with YouTube PlayThe Take, featured experts, scholars, and artists from the worlds of film, video, and Internet culture discussing digital content, the history of video art, and online video and its effects on art and life.

Selection Process
The deadline for submissions was July 31, 2010. We received more than 23,000 videos, which a team of Guggenheim curators narrowed down to a shortlist of 125. The YouTube Play jury chose the top 25 videos from the shortlist of 125.


Laurie Anderson

Animal Collective, featuring Deakin (Josh Dibb), Geologist (Brian Weitz), and Panda Bear (Noah Lennox)

Darren Aronofsky

Douglas Gordon

Ryan McGinley

Marilyn Minter

Takashi Murakami

Shirin Neshat

Stefan Sagmeister

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Nancy Spector, Jury Chair


Scroll to top